How can Gardner-Johnson possibly be ready by opening day?

time2rock

How can Gardner-Johnson possibly be ready by opening day?

Chauncey Gardner-Johnson has to condense an entire offseason of practices, meetings, video study and preseason games into 11 days.

Piece of cake.

"I’m a ballplayer,” Gardner-Johnson said with a big smile. "It’s just football. I’ve been playing it since I was like 6 years old.”

The Eagles acquired Gardner-Johnson from the Saints on Tuesday, and on Wednesday he was out at practice working with both the 1st and 2nd defense as the Eagles try to get him prepped in a hurry.

If all goes according to plan, the 24-year-old CJGJ will be starting at safety on opening day a week from Sunday in Detroit in place of last year’s starter, Anthony Harris, who was released on Tuesday.

This is not an easy defense to learn, and the Eagles will have five practices and a walkthrough between the day the trade was made and the day they open the regular season. 

"It’s always a challenge, but that’s why it’s a group effort,” Darius Slay said. "Coach Dennard (Wilson) will do a great job making sure he learns as best as he can as fast as he can, whenever he’s ready to go out there. 

"As teammates, we’re going to help him as well. We already told him, ‘Anything you need help with, you can come to my house, anybody’s house you need to, we can sit together and watch film.’ Our coach does a great job teaching us so we can teach him as well.”

If Johnson-Gardner does start Sunday, he’ll be the first Eagle acquired this late in the preseason to start a season opener since 1988, when they traded for Ron Heller on Aug. 23 and Heller started at right tackle in the season-opening win 11 days later in Tampa.

"It’s never easy this close to the game, but he’s a smart dude and you can see it already,” safety Marcus Epps said. "He has a high football IQ, he understands route concepts and what offenses are trying to do.