A Lot Went Wrong

time2rock

A Lot Went Wrong

Posted: June 11th, 2021 | Author: Tommy Lawlor | Filed under: Philadelphia Eagles | 120 Comments

I looked back at a post from last June and I said the Eagles could go anywhere from 12-4 to 6-10, depending on health and player development. Oops. I didn’t see 4-11-1 as an option. The problem is that I’m not good at predicting disasters. Put simply, a lot went wrong last year. It really is crazy to think about.

INJURIES

There is no reason to say a lot about this, but the Eagles were second (I think) in games lost to injury. The OL set an NFL record for different starting lineups in a season. Teams can overcome injuries, but last year was an extreme situation and just overwhelmed a team that was already struggling.

REGRESSION

We love to talk about players getting better. We rarely anticipate players getting worse, but that is what happened last year. Sure, seeing Jason Peters struggle could be expected due to his age. That I get. Carson Wentz going from one of the better QBs in the league to the worst wasn’t something I could have ever imagined. It takes years for a player to decline. It takes something crazy for a player to fall apart. I just didn’t see anything that led me to believe that would happen to him. It sure did, though.

I was hopeful that Nate Gerry would have his best season. Instead, he was awful, especially in coverage.

Zach Ertz was one of the best TEs heading into the season. He was a mediocre player last year. And that might be generous. His contract situation brought out the worst in him and Ertz looked nothing like the guy we’d loved since 2013.

Matt Pryor had a huge opportunity. All the OL injuries gave him plenty of chances to play. Instead of building on what he did in 2019, Pryor proved he’s not meant to be a starter or key backup.